Kyiv, Ukraine


KK Quartet is a Kyiv-based band made up of Khrystyna Kirik (bandleader, double-bass), Mykola Ryshkov (alt/tenor saxophone), Hryhorii Parshin (baritone saxophone), and Taras Kozak (drums). The band plays contemporary jazz and post-bop music, and performs original tunes and arrangements as well as compositions by Ukrainian jazz composers. The quartet does not include harmonic instruments, which allows them to move away from traditional harmonies in their music and create a more ‘raw’, disordered sound.
KK Quartet is a resident of Uncovered, a group created by Khrystyna Kirik for recording sessions and concerts of Ukrainian local non-mainstream musicians. Kirik plays on Rostyslav Voitko’s album Above the Crowd and Yakiv Tsvietinskyi’s Minimalist, and Parshin plays on Dmytro Kovalenko’s album Asya’s Walk. All the musicians also have their own groups and perform with various local bands at clubs and festivals such as Leopolis Jazz Festival, Am I Jazz?, and others.

International collaboration:
• 2014 – Klangspuren Schwaz festival, Austria
• 2016, 2017, 2019 – Lucerne Festival Academy and Alumni Ensemble, Switzerland
• 2017–2018 – International Ensemble Modern Academy, Frankfurt am Main, Germany


Khrystyna Kirik – double bass
Mykola Ryshkov – alt/tenor sax
Hryhoriy Parshyn – baritone sax
Taras Kozak – drums

Invite an artist



  • 1 Blue In Green
  • 2 Phrygian Blues
  • 3 Embankment
  • 4 Thelonious
  • 5 The Night Has A Thousand Eyes